Please Join FairTest in Honoring John H. Jackson and Barbara Madeloni


John H. Jackson and Barbara Madeloni



Thursday, October 26, 2017, 5:45 – 8:30 PM

First Parish Unitarian Universalist, 3 Church St., Harvard Square, Cambridge, MA

Drinks and hors d'oeuvres will be served at the Reception, 5:45 – 7:00. Free Award Ceremony starts at 7:00.


Dr. John H. Jackson is President and CEO of the Schott Foundation for Public Education. Dr. Jackson leads the Foundation’s efforts to ensure a high quality public education for all students regardless of race or gender. He joined Schott after seven years at the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). Dr. Jackson also served on the Obama-Biden Education Policy transition team and was Senior Policy Advisor in the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) at the U.S. Department of Education in the Clinton Administration. He holds a J.D. from the University of Illinois and a Doctorate in Education from the Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Barbara Madeloni is President of the 110,000-member Massachusetts Teachers Association and a staunch advocate for students and educators in public schools and higher education. She is committed to racial and economic justice and to building effective unions in alliance with parents, students and communities. She was a key leader in the successful 2016 Massachusetts campaign to block the expansion of charter schools. Madeloni is senior lecturer (on leave) in the Labor Studies Department at UMass-Amherst, where she previously worked at the School of Education. She also has taught high school and worked as a psychotherapist.

Judith Browne Dianis, Executive Director, Advancement Project, will introduce Dr. Jackson.

Jessica Tang, President, Boston Teachers Union, will introduce Ms. Madeloni.

Deborah Meier, FairTest Board member, will make brief remarks.

Honorary Chairs (in formation):  Fred Bay, Nancy Carlsson-Paige, Mike Connolly, Nick Donohue, Michelle Fine, Lani Guinier, Jonathan Kozol, Karen Lewis, Deborah Meier, Diane Ravitch

Host Committee (in formation): Sophie Sa (chair), Judith Browne Dianis, Tom Gosnell, Natalie Higgins, Patricia Jehlen, Jackie Jenkins-Scott, Donna Kelly-Williams, Alfie Kohn, Jessica Tang, Miren Uriarte


To order your tickets, or place an ad in the event program, please visit

If you cannot attend, please donate in their honor – use the red Donate button on the website. (use the drop-down menu to indicate your donation be designated to John & Barbara).


  • To Register online click here. Fill out the online form. IF you select a package that includes more than 1 ticket, select ONE of the packages and then email your guest list to
  • To register by mail click here to download a printable registration form.
    Fill it out and send it along with a check to FairTest, PO Box 300204, Boston MA 02130
  • For a Printable Copy of this flyer (Please share it widely) CLICK HERE.
JacksonMadeloniReplyForm.pdf136.46 KB
Jackson-Madeloni-Invite.pdf474.07 KB