MA Koplik Scholarship

Massachusetts is one state that bases receipt of a "merit-based" scholarship on standardized test scores. According to the Massachusetts Department of Education, the Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery is part of the Education Reform Law of 1993, designed to reward students who "demonstrate high academic achievement." This "achievement" is measured through a combination of state assessment (MCAS) results and AP/SAT II scores. In 2000, the first year of the award, over 1,000 students applied and 860 students received the scholarship worth a tuition waiver at a state public college or university for up to four years. Over 2,000 applications were submitted for the 2001 award cycle, with 1,859 students from 214 schools receiving the award.

In order to qualify for the scholarship, students must meet the following requirements: earn an "Advanced" rating on the MCAS in at least one grade 10 subject test (English Language Arts, Mathematics, or Science & Technology), and have scored "Proficient" or "Advanced" in two other subjects; plus two additional academic achievements: one qualifying AP (score of 3 or more) or SAT II subject test score, and another qualifying SAT II or AP test score or recognition from an outside forum.

The low numbers of African American, Latino, and Native American students that achieve the test score levels specified under the Koplik program results in very few students from these groups earning a scholarship.

2001 Stanley Z. Koplik Certificate of Mastery Recipients


Race/Ethnicity of Recipients Number of Recipients
American Indian  1
Asian  105
Black or African Am.  8
Caucasian/White  598
Latino/South American  14
Multiracial  17

NOTE: Approximately 40% ( 743) out of 1,859 recipients self-reported race/ethnicity on their applications.

Data gathered from the Massachusetts Department of Education.

More information about the program can be found on the MA Department of Education website.